I finished my workout and I didn’t die. Sometimes that’s the best you can hope for. The purpose of brick training is to help you get used to the feeling of hopping off your bike and then starting to run on legs that are already tired. Or, as I like to think about it: the opportunity to get used to the fact that you are, at some point in your race, going to feel like a Muppet. Seriously! If you’ve never tried it, I dare you. Your legs feel so strange. They feel totally disconnected from your body. Brick training helps you come to terms with the fact that, for about 5 minutes, you are going to look and feel like Phoebe from “Friends” and there’s just nothing you can do about it.  Except, you won’t look quite as happy because, lets face it, you just cycled for a somewhat silly distance and now you have somehow find the energy to get through what normal people would consider running for a “long time”. Eventually, though, you find your legs –or rather they find you by screaming at you to remind you that you just finished beating the crap out of them– and you run. And, if all goes well…you don’t fall down and you actually get to the finish line. When I did the try-a-tri my legs felt like they were made of lead, until I came around the corner in the home stretch and some nice gentlemen called out to me “you just made that look quick and easy!” to which I replied “I think you mean slow and painful!” but that moment of laughter distracted me long enough to let me get my groove back. Yes, the runner’s high is a thing but even better is laughter so if you’re ever watching a triathlon, please, please make me laugh with a funny sign or silly comment. It will distract me 🙂

Today’s accomplishment: I survived brick training and I didn’t die… SUCCESS! Sure, I’m slower than a herd of turtles running through molasses by the end, sure I look like a rabid monkey while trying to climb the last brutal hill that I just dragged myself up on the bike and sure my current times mean I will likely drag my sorry ass across the finish line pretty close to last but … I DIDN’T DIE…and that’s a good thing.brick training

