It’s only a week before the triathlon and strangely I haven’t started to panic yet. I’m sure that will change soon enough. A chair full of laundry tipped over on my foot  today and caused an instant bruise and a distinct hobble that has yet to subside. That will certainly cause panic if it doesn’t chill out soon. But it got me thinking about pre-race stuff. I haven’t been doing this long enough to develop a ritual and certainly before my try-a-tri one I was so freaked that I didn’t even sleep and I basically shook for two hours so definitely no real ritual starting there. The closest I’ve got is that I wrote “think fish” on my arm– a bit of a joke from when my husband gave me that advice before a swimming session once (and then I actually swam my fastest training run). So– as this race approaches–if there is anyone actually reading this– what are your pre-race rituals? What works for you to get ready and calm the nerves? Do you have superstitions? A set routine?  A specific meal? Or do you fly by the seat of your pants?

