This training thing is hard! Especially when you are busy as hell, have an active job and tend to overbook yourself (who? Me? Never!!!…well, ok, maybe).

Sometimes, for those of us who like to “push” ourselves, the days when your body refuses to cooperate are really frustrating. My body is exhausted! Yesterday, I actually skipped a run because I was pretty much down for the count at 6pm. Today, I had a brick session planned. I’ve got this new format where I alternate cycling and running for 20 mins, then 10, then 5. It keeps my short attention span from wandering. Today, I pretty much thought I was going  to collapse in the first cycle session. My legs were screaming some at me, using colourful language, I’m sure and I just wanted to quit! But I didn’t, I kept going, whimpering and whining the whole time. I finished my brick session and then sat down, frustrated and annoyed that I couldn’t just do what I wanted. But guess what?? Sometimes it just doesn’t go as planned. I still did the workout. I have to remember that the only bad workout is the one you didn’t do. And right now, I’m working hard to remind myself because my legs are burning, they’re a little shakey and I feel like lead! And, of course, I have a play rehearsal to get to.

Sometimes “I trained and didn’t die” really is success.

