Today was one of those days. I just didn’t want to do anything. I’ve been having pain in my feet so I didn’t want to run, I’m tired so I didn’t want to swim and I’m stressed from trying to get the school play ready for performance so I just wanted to stress eat.

Today’s swim was not good. Ugly, even. I was slow and completely unmotivated. I did my sprint distance -barely- and was a good solid minute slower than usual. My lovely friend did her best to assure me that not every day has to be the best but I’m competitive and I hate not doing my best.

And then it came to the evening and I was supposed to run. And I didn’t want to. What I really wanted to do was drink wine and eat chocolate. But that same lovely friend reminded me that even a short run would be helpful- especially considering I had just ordered a new bikini. So, down I went to my treadmill.

And it was good. 

  

 My smile says it all. It was the right decision to go for a run.  And, as it turns out it wasn’t a short one.  I set a new distance record of 15.3km. The best part is that I know I could have kept going. I had more in the tank. That half marathon distance isn’t so far off after all. 

And now I need to go ice my very sore feet

